Golf-Chat
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Fade/slice/"power fade"

5 posters

Go down

Fade/slice/"power fade" Empty Fade/slice/"power fade"

Post by Davie Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:25 am

Let me start this by saying I am NOT an expert in these things, and what works for me may not work for everyone (in fact it probably won't) - so take the following with a large pinch of salt...

I have suffered all my golfing life with a fade; a fade on a good day, a slice on average days and a big ****-off power fade on bad days. Some days when feeling good about my game, other days I've just lived with it and aimed WAY left (and put up with the massive loss of distance off the tee with such a big banana shot)

However, the last few weeks, I've had a turnaround in my attitude to the shot.

I always knew I had a big out-to-in swing - I could feel myself doing it and really couldn't stop myself. I'd heard people talking about strong and weak grips but never really understood the full implications of what they were talking about. In my mind, the weak grip was always a left hand thing, and I tried to strengthen up my left hand grip which helped a little, but not a lot.

Then, a few weeks ago I overheard someone I was playing with actually talking to a fellow player who suffered the same as me, and he pointed out the rights and wrongs of the right-hand grip. I always believed that to strengthen up the right hand you turned that over the top a little too but this guy mentioned that strong/weak grips is all about clockwise or anti-clockwise movement with BOTH hands